Government Announces 14 Official Public Holidays in 2019

Shakila Nasreen

Updated on:

Public Holidays in 2019

ISLAMABAD: The Federal Government of Pakistan issued a list of 14 official public holidays for 2019.

Ministry of Interior stated in a notification regarding the public holidays in 2019; there are only 14 official holidays in 2019. For Muslim festivals, the holidays are subjected to the appearance of the moon. On every Muslim festival, the Ministry of Interior will issue a separate notification.

In the list of 14 holidays, there are three bank holidays on January 1, May 7 and July 1 for the public.

List of Public Holidays for 2019

Sr.No Name of Occasion Days Dates During Year 2019
1 Kashmir Day Tuesday 5th February 2019
2 Pakistan Day Saturday 23rd March 2019
3 Labour Day Wednesday 1st May 2019
4 Eid-ul-Fitr Wednesday, Thursday, Friday 5th, 6th, 7th June 2019
5 Eid-ul-Azha Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday 12th, 13th, 14th August, 2019
6 Independence Day Wednesday 14th August, 2019
7 Ashura Monday, Tuesday 9th, 10th September 2019
8 Eid Milad-un-Nabi Monday 11th November 2019
9 Quaid-e-Azam Day Wednesday 25th December, 2019
10 Christmas Wednesday 25th December, 2019
11 Day After Christmas Thursday 26th December, 2019 (For Christians only)

The Federal Government also released a list of 23 optional holidays for the minorities living in Pakistan. These holidays include Basant, Shiv Ratri, Good Friday, Easter, etc. According to the notification, no Muslim Government Servant will be entitled to more than one optional holiday. Government officials from minorities who want to avail the optional holidays need to take prior permission from the head of their office. A non-muslim will be entitled three optional holidays in 2019.

List of Optional Holidays for 2019

Sr.No Name of Occasion Days Dates during Year 2019
1 New Year Day Tuesday 1st January, 2019
2 Basant Punchami Wednesday 9th February, 2019
3 Shiv Ratri Monday 4th March, 2019
4 Holi Tuesday 21st March, 2019
5 Dulhandi Tuesday 21st March, 2019
6 Shab-e-Meraj Thursday 4th April, 2019
7 Baisakhi Festival Sunday 14th April, 2019
8 Good Friday Friday 19th April, 2019
9 Eid-e-Rizwan Sunday 21st April, 2019
10 Shab-e-Barat Sunday 21st April, 2019
11 Easter Sunday 21st April, 2019
12 Day After Easter Monday 22nd April, 2019
13 Buddha Purnima Saturday 18th May, 2019
14 Nauroze Saturday 17th August, 2019
15 Birthday of Lord Zoroaster Thursday 22nd August, 2019
16 Krishna Janam Ashtami Saturday 24th August, 2019
17 Durga Puja Sunday 6th October, 2019
18 Dussehra Tuesday 8th October, 2019
19 Birthday Guru Valmik Sawami Jee Sunday 13th October, 2019
20 Diwali Sunday 27th October, 2019
21 Birthday of Guru Nanak Dev Jee Tuesday 12th November, 2019
22 Chelum Sunday 20th November, 2019
23 Giyarvhee Sharief Monday 9th December, 2019

Via Geo News

Leave a Comment